MY STAINS WON’T STAY

Posted: June 9, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Michael:
Do you have an option
You know you aren’t ready for the baby
It’s a totally different journey
A totally different world

Ewurama:
But I… I…

Michael:
Can’t keep it

Ewurama:
I… (Breathes hard)
I… (Buries face in her palms and sobs softly)

Michael:
Just turned 21
Is mom ready to know you’re sleeping around?

Ewurama:
(Unveils head slowly out of her palms and steals a glance at Michael with burning eyes)
Shut up!
Shut up if you can’t give me the truth in simple words without judging me
You are wounding rather than healing
You hypocrite! I’m tired of hearing your lines
All so pius and divine
I need peace
I need to stop denying myself
I need to stop seeing myself blemished because
I see you

Michael:
Oh Ewurama

Ewurama:
Are you not commanded to love me like yourself? Oh! Did I ever miss the part that says
“Love thy neighbour as you’d wish yourself be” Cos you see
My Bible is intact with no leaves out

Michael:
But I… I…

Ewurama:
Wasn’t sleeping around (takes a step closer)
Was sleeping with you (another step closer)
You! In your house (another step ahead)
You! Even after church service (pokes him hard in the chest)
You! Even when I’d to skip lectures (Pokes him harder on his chest)
You! You! You!

Michael:
(gets a grip of her arms and says slowly)
I know how you feel
But think about it
You have to abort
You can’t live with it

Ewurama:
That’s killing
That’s murder

Michael:
That… was fornication
That… was sin against God
And I don’t know if he’ll ever forgive me
(Walks away from Ewurama)
I preach at youth service
I sing and people get healed
What if my life in the light
Reverses in the dark?
What if I get back home
And realised my closet’s now turned black?
What if…
(Michelle enters)

Michelle:
(Stunned at the sudden silence between Michael and Ewurama, asks)
Umm… I’m sorry, did I interrupts?

Michael:
(Sighs)

Ewurama:
I was gonna leave anyway
(Smiles at Michelle and picks up her bag. Walks to Michael and hugs him. Walking away, she turns back and steals a sad and remorseful glance at her boyfriend)

Michelle:
Are you ok? You look tensed
(Phone rings and she answers. Aside is Michael, staring at Michelle and talking to himself)

Michael:
Life would’ve been comfortable if I had her foot size
My shoes are getting tighter by the day
See how she walks freely
See how she smiles freely
See… She’s got it all worked out
And I get to be the evil one
(Silence)
How does she get to be so perfect
How does she do it?

Michelle:
Hey bro… Umm we need to talk
It’s been a while and I just thought it would be kinda beneficial on both sides to share a bit of closeness as siblings. As twins.

Michael:
Ok. Hey sis, I gotta run
(Walks over to the desks and starts piling a couple of documents)

Michelle:
(Aside)
How does he do it?
How does he get to be so perfect?
Permanent job
Godly relationship
I bet God smiles at him and frowns at me
Oh my! What have I done to myself?

Michael:
Gotta go sis. I’ll come pick you up after work so we hang out, ok? Love you sis (hugs her)

Michelle:
Love you to, bro. Hey, you could drop me off at Maame’s, right?

Michael:
Oh c’mon, where’s your car? There’s heavy traffic at 37… Ok, no more favours for this week. (Smiles)

Michelle:
(Smiles back) Thanks, bruv
(Both exit)

*****

Maame:
How did it go yesterday? Got the results?

Michelle:
The doctor confirmed it
I’ve got the disease
It’s a positive

Maame:
Oh no…

Michelle:
(Stands and takes a few steps away from Maame)
My life is a mess
Have I lived a lie
Maybe I just discovered less
Less of myself and afraid of the rest
(To the audience)
Listen hard
Listen to me
The me you see is the me I give
The me I give isn’t what He gave
Forgive me…
(Looks up)
Forgive me Father for I have sinned
Not for the coverteousness
Not for taking that man away from his wife and child
Just haven’t pushed harder I realised…
I just haven’t pushed harder
Yet my fears
Slowly crawling within the walls of my heart
Wipe all out now
And paint the new art
The art that will never part from this heart

Maame:
I wish I knew what to say
But I’m still here anyway
Everything will be alright in the end
If it’s not alright
It’s not the end

******

(Sitting opposite each other by a table at a restaurant and laughing)

Michael:
I got Ewurama pregnant and now she’ll have to abort

Michelle:
(Smile fades)
That’s murder, Michael!!

Michael:
That’s me having no option, Miss Perfect Twinnie

Michelle:
Miss Perfect Twinnie?
You’re kidding me
You’ve no idea what I have to struggle with every blessed day to stay sane
My life is messed up
And I can only trust you now
Funny how you’re my last option
(Sighs)
I’m dating a married man with a child

Michael:
Is this about mom and dad?
Cos they make me feel like staying a bachelor all my life

Michelle:
And I almost died 3 days ago after attempting suicide

Michael:
Michelle…!!

Michelle:
What has life got to offer
Better still what have I got to offer if I live
Pain
Anger
Remorse
I have HIV/AIDS, Michael

Michael:
MERCIFUL LORD!!!
No… No… No-No-No you can’t…
You can’t… You… Oh no
(Tears fill his eyes as he watches his sister who feels more or less like a living corpse. Thoughts rain loud in his head)
That’s my blood
I’ve known her all my life
And she’s my inspiration for living
Look at her
She’s gonna be gone in some months… years… I’m gonna lose my other half
I’m gonna lose my twin sister
Oh Jesus, please help me
Help us

Michelle:
I don’t know how a God so supreme and so pure would use me
A dirty and messed up girl who has nothing to give
I’m almost dead anyway

Michael:
I’m not as perfect too, sis
Silly how we ended up needing each other after years of thinking we could hold it together
We were made for each other
We came together
Any other reason to stay apart?
I’m here for you
And I’m not gonna lose you
I can’t live life fully if I don’t have you
(Takes her by the hand)
I’m here for you

Michelle:
What if the sun doesn’t rise and set for me tomorrow?
What if I’m just that girl who had limited chances and blew them up and have no chance with life at all?
What if…

Michael:
What if nothing…
We’re gonna make this work
Rededicate our lives to God at church
We can’t change the past but can touch lives with our gifts
Share your testimony at church and with friends, write about it, share your experience and let them know your present state and how merciful God can be; he’s still using you. Let them know that yes, the flesh is stubborn and contradicts to the spirit yet God, just as he breathed life and spirit into man, only looks deep down into the spirit and not at the temporary fleshy nature. We can make this work, Michelle, we can do this, together. Let’s just make God happy, at least with the rest of the time we have.

(Michael’s phone rings)

Michael:
Hey Ewurama…
Oh ok, hello Mrs. Koomson…
Uhuh… Yes, I… I…
Oh my God! Oh my!!
(Hangs up)
She… She killed herself. She’s dead, Mich, my girlfriend is… (She moves from her seat to console her brother with a hug) She’s gone… I… I killed my Ewurama and my unborn child… I…

(Scene fades)

Comments
  1. kofiboafoo says:

    You have got the talent sis

  2. portions of this really hit home

Leave a Reply

