MY PRIDE… HIS OBSESSION_I

Posted: December 11, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

image

So let’s skip the part where I keep you in suspense with the sharp heart skips of excitement and unexpected surprises.

Had a bad day already. For some reason my supervisor woke up from the wrong side of bed and I had to suffer from his anxiety and frustration. Meaning no free ride back to my hostel. Well, thank God it’s a few more minutes tick to 5pm. I can’t wait to get to my room… [soft smile] yeah! It’s girls’ night tonight.

[Opens door. Girls interracting whiles watching TV]

Ms. D: [smiles] Hey Muna…

There was Ms. D, on Maame’s bed, whatsapping as usual. She never really dated but was surrounded by countless guys. At times I felt she was being modest and careful not to hurt anyone. Slim, amazing body curves, lovely voice, smiles with dimples… hah! Well…

Nanna sat on Lise’s bed reading a book… hah! Nanna. Who’s more organized and goal oriented in life amongst us? As at Level 400, I could hardly tell my next step after graduation. She helped us with academics sometimes and other extra curricula activities. Nanna was more private than any of the girls. I bet she didn’t want any destruction; that’s understandable…

Oh that’s Maame, doing the dishes. Love that about her… Orderly. Maame was an interesting character. She loved the lord; we all did but I admired Maame and Lise’s zeal with things of the Lord. There wasn’t a Sunday where they stayed idle indoors. After her breakup, she became more or less distant and showed less emotion and sensitivity. As if I cared, well I did but secretly, because she cared about me too. I confided in her sometimes.

Up on Maame’s bed is Fali with her friend Nyabu. Don’t know much about Nyabu only that she’s friendly, goes straight into the washroom the moment she enters the room, and smiles a lot. Fali is a non-judgmental, open and sweet Muslim friend.

Muna: Any food? I’m starving?

Maame: [To Muna] Fali said she’s got it all settled for tonight. It’s on the way. No need to worry, Muna [taps her on the shoulder]

[Door opens]

Oh yea that’s Tricia. A friend of the room. Not best of friends but to the best of my knowledge, the man everyone thought was perfect with her together, gave up along the way. I wonder what’s with all these pretty ladies having men who’re either indecisive or insecure.

[Door opens again. Enters Lise with her keyboard]

Yeah, she was from church. Umm… Not much to say only that she is a pillar in her church and cannot bare to miss a service. Gosh! That voice!! Remind me why she doesnt have a boyfriend again… Oh yeaah!! I know… But ssshhh!!

Lise: Hey Tricia, when did u come?

Tricia: Just got here

Muna: So when are we gonna watch the Twilight Breaking Dawn II at the Silverbird Cinema?

Ms. D: Not me

Muna: Hah! Ms. D, your views don’t count

[girls laugh]

Nanna: Aww don’t do that to Ms. D… Hahahaha!!

Muna: [Looks at Ms. D with a pitiful smile] Just kidding, Ms. D… But who cares?! We’ll all go anyway, whether you like it or not!

[One after the other, each takes their bath to dress into T-shirts and boxers. That was the theme for the night ie. T-BOX NIGHT]

Ms. D: Ladies… Just saw a wedding invite. Remember Samuel?

Tricia: The hot keyboardist who came over to see Muna last week?

Maame: What? He’s getting married?? [Whispers ‘wow]

Ms. D: Yes!! Yes!!! With his long lasting relationship girl bi like that. Aww… Finally!! I was wondering when…

Voices starting to fade in my ears. Suddenly I could hear all the girls talk and laugh at the top of their voices only from afar… as far as I wanted… Far enough that I could hear my heart’s pace and the drops of water from the bathroom’s shower. I could hardly finish brushing my teeth again but only in slow motion as I look in the mirror.

No! It isnt true.

I blinked hard. Suddenly, all the voices were as clear and noisy. [washes mouth and places toothbrush in the locker]

Muna: [Smiles sarcastically] Umm… Who’s getting married??

Fali: The ‘hot guy’ who came to see you last Wednesday. I even thought he had eyes for you. The way he looked at you

Nanna: Eeeeiiiii Fali [laughs]

Tricia: Wanting-wanting no get… Getting-getting no want. How you go do am?

Maame took a long stare at my fake smiles and asked to see me in the bathroom. I was getting tired of that smile anyway.

She closed the door and starts rattling words. Again, I could hear nothing

Maame: …are you even listening to me??

Muna: [tears finally rush in a second on her left cheek] It’s not him, right? It isn’t Sam. I saw him last week, he could’ve told me.

Maame: What could you have done? Stopped him?? You think he would’ve changed his mind?

Muna: [shaking and wandering eyes around the doors, windows, ceiling] Oh my God! Oh my God!!

[Knock on the door]

Fali: [Screams] The pizza, ladies!!

Nyaabu: Yaay!! Pizza!!

Ms. D: Hey Maame, Muna, pizza’s in!!

Maame: Wipe those tears… Let’s get in. I know it’s hard for you right now, but unless you want the girls to know… I’m here for you, ok? [hugs her and pulls her back in]

I tried to fit in. Ate a couple of slices and a few sips of Coca Cola. But damn! He can’t get married.Is this the end of Sam and I? Marriage? He’s marrying?? I wish so much that these girls would just vanish into thin air right now. I can’t stand this… And that… That! Is a depressing movie. I can’t keep lifting my head to suck in the tears in my eyes. Aaarrrgggghhhh!!!

[phone rings on Muna’s bed]

[she climbs bed to answer]

Muna: Hello?

Sam: Muna? Muna listen to me

Muna: Sam? Sam!!

Maame: [lifts head up and manages to look at Muna even in the dark]

Sam: Hello? Muna?? Hello…

Muna: [silent]

Sam: I know you’re there. Please listen to me. Umm… I’m assuming you’ve received the invite already. We need to talk. I’m outside now. Outside your room. On your floor. I really need to see you now, Muna. Please say something… Please…

Muna: [silent]

Sam: [whispers in anxiety] Oh my God… Muna…

Muna: Ok.

[cuts the call and excuses herself]

There he was, standing with arms in his pocket. He wore the shirt I got him for his birthday last week. Finally the day’s here. The day where I give up 5yrs of love, pain, sacrifice, uncontrol… The day’s here.

He turns and slowly whispers my name, but loud enough for me to hear. I didnt like the look in his eyes. It always got me vulnerable. Now I feel vulnerable. But no… Not anymore… I’ll look deep into his eyes even if it burns mine.

Finally some courage

Muna: What are you doing here??

Leave a Reply

