FOOD TO LIVE… FOOD TO BREATHE

Posted: June 25, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

jollof

If there were no animals
Classify chicken, goats and cats anything other than humans
If there were no vegetables
Classify onions, cucumber and carrots anything other than they are
If there was no water
Classify Coca Cola as not fizzy
Classify Coca Cola as my water
I pray I get all I need from this water

If there were no animals
If there were no vegetables
If there was no water
Know that I had my jollof before
You knew they never existed

Jollof…
Salad…
Chicken…
Fish…
Sweet colourful jollof
Smell of a new day
Smell of a new mood
Smell of everything new

Jollof
I can never seem to have enough
Call me selfish
Call me a foodie
Say I don’t have a balanced diet
And I’ll tell you I have a balanced meal

Whether raw
Whether spiced with tuna
Whether dressed with salad and beef
Whether designed
Whether bare in my plate
I still have my jollof just the way I like it

Simply jollof

Yet this is the best amongst my favorites.

#MizAkweleWrites #MizAkwelePoems

Comments
  1. Jollof propelled poetry 🙂

Leave a Reply

