50p FOR BREAD

Posted: November 3, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’d just bought a tuber of yam and some sausages to go make lunch. He was adorable, I couldn’t resist smiling at him. I did, until he approached me and asked me for money.

“50p for bread. 50p for bread”, he insisted.

My smile couldn’t have faded fast enough. Instantly, I shook my head in disagreement… “No”. He didn’t seem adorable anymore, only demanding.

He kept demanding.
He kept insisting.
He just couldn’t stop repeating “50p for bread”!!

Where’s his family? His mother. Why is a little boy out topless and barefoot on an angry sunny day? Why is he begging me? Why me?? Why was he insisting? Why 50p for bread when he had lollipop that cost the same amount in his mouth?

Maybe I’m justifying my reasons for rejecting the little boy’s offer, but hey, I didn’t have any money left. It didn’t seem right anyway.

Nevertheless, this is morally wrong… Just wrong. Here’s a boy child on the streets begging for less than a cedi whiles his mates are in school learning the ways of ABCD. If I’d been born poor  in some other world with a boy child this young, I’d keep him home and nurture him with the little I’ve got.

I bet anyone whose been to Accra has had some experience with the ‘Happy Street Beggers’ mostly stationed at the Accra Mall. Those children intrigue me. I satisfied my curiosity one weekend when I sat one down and asked why she wanted my money.

‘to buy rice’, she replied.
‘but I have just GHC1.00. You can’t buy a plate of rice with that’.
‘you can give it to me. Rice is 1.50p. Someone else will give me 50p, then I’ll buy rice and eat it’, she said smiling.

Hah!!

I gave her GHC1.00 for being one little impressive child. I could’ve given her 1.50p but then she asked for GHC1.00 anyway. The moment she left, a fellow Happy Street Begger came to me also requesting for GHC1.00

It doesn’t get any more interesting than that.

Leave a Reply

