Her Water Just Broke!!

Posted: May 6, 2015 in Thoughts & Sentiments
Tags: , , ,

Her water just broke, God! You should have seen her. She couldn’t sit, she couldn’t stand or even kneel. I was shaken. Her pain looked contagious.

The lights had gone off so I was with my hairdresser who’s 9-months old son happens to be my Godson. We had some catching up to do. Rafia, the pregnant woman sat close to us and kept tilting her head abnormally until my hairdresser asked.

Apparently, she’s 16, waiting for her 17year-old husband to get back home -there was no money.

We got hold of her husband’s elder brother who rushed to the site and helped her to the maternity home about 10 steps away, but there was no power and they couldn’t help.  I rushed home to pick up some money so they could go to Ridge Hospital where she’s supposedly allowed to deliver.

Mothers’ Day is in 4 days, and I’m in this darkness, with my phone screen’s light shining through my lens, wondering if this 16-year-old is ready to be A MOTHER. Her ‘husband’ didn’t go with her, and gave me the excuse that he hadn’t taken his bath!! Bath! Really? Instead, he went into the neighbourhood announcing the current incident .

Wow. Children birthing children now??

God bless my mother.
God bless your mother.

Leave a Reply

