35465ab97a2a8bd45b258e50c324b3a8

I didn’t have enough cash on me anyway, so when he asked for 1-Ghana-Cedi, I’d wanted to find a more appropriate way of dealing with the issue, my money had to go to the right place for a good cause. He didn’t look like a beggar. He didn’t look needy.

He was in a neatly ironed blue shirt, and his black trousers weren’t oversized, they fitted perfectly with his handmade Kumasi slippers. His toenails looked clean and new. And his hair, he’d probably used some curl activator pomade because his those curls looked really dark and defined, with sharp edges.

“I just need GHC1 to buy some food, please, I’m hungry, I don’t do this but I really need to eat”.

“O! GHC1 can’t buy you food that will satisfy. If it’s food you need, I can get you some fruits instead”.

I was still on the pedestrian road walking towards the Nii Boi Station at Lapaz. I had an appointment and was running late. Right when we were approaching a fruit stand, I asked him which fruits he’d like.

“No! No! I don’t buy fruits from here”

Well, darn! A beggar with a choice. Alright!

Still walking ahead, I stop at a fried yam and potatoes seller and signal him.  He shook his head in disagreement and said, “I don’t like their food”

Ahh!!!

I noticed a man behind the yam seller trying to get my attention. He shook his head and pointed at the beggar walking away. Just then, I got the impression he knew the beggar.

I had to do this nicely.

“So, you do not have family to call for help? None at all?”

“They’ve all travelled outside the country”

“All? Ok, that’s fine. What of friends? You don’t have friends you can contact for help? Or have they travelled with your family?”

“Oh c’mon, I can’t ask friends for money, or food. What will they make of me?”

“Wow. Ok. So you can’t contact family or friends. Now, make me understand your situation and I’ll might even give you more than a cedi”

“Oh I can’t tell you”

“But…” [he interrupts]

“Look, are you going to give me the money or not?”

“Oh wow. Ok. No.”

Immediately, he walked away and I continued my journey.

Leave a Reply

